Reviews

Comfortable and Welcoming - Rating 5/5

I received a warm welcome and enjoyed a comfortable stay. The food served for evening meal and breakfast was superb. There was a good bar also. Full of character and history, the Griffin Hotel is a wonderful place to stay.

Reviewer:Trevor J | Fri 13th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


thanks - Rating 5/5

enjoyed very much good food, good room, very friendly staff will stay again

Reviewer:kevin w | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Griffin - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights at The Griffin Hotel. Everyone was pleasant &helpful. I had relaxed evenings in the bar after my work was over &enjoyed good "pub grub"in the restaurant. An excellent breakfast was cooked to order. I will certainly choose The Griffin Hotel next time I am staying in the area on business. Very good value for money.

Reviewer:Martin C | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Surprisingly good - Rating 4/5

A most enjoyable stayHelpful staff. Excellemt food with large helpings.Decor a bit dated, but good enough!

Reviewer:John B | Wed 4th Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Very satisfied - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room and bed, excellent and very accommodating host and friendly bar staff. Delicious food. What more can I say except Thank you very much for a pleasant stay and your hospitality.Would definitely look to stay again when next in your area. Thanks again.

Reviewer:Pete W | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Incredibly hospitable- Rating 3/5

Thank you for having me stay at Griffin Hotel. The people I met were most friendly, helpful and welcoming;and the breakfast was delicious. I felt the room required some TLC to enable an uplift and a fresher feeling.

Reviewer:Liz D | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Warm welcoming stay - Rating 4/5

We arrived very late at accommodation due to horrendous traffic. I informed hotel and they were brilliant, saying they would wait for us. We finally arrived at 12.15pm.we found the staff very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was located right in the town and the food was lovely. The room was a bit tired but clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Sally H | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed here as a base for a wedding, so weren’t in the room long. However, it was comfortable enough and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Richard S | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Would definitely come back again- Rating 5/5

Very happy with our stay in this well run establishment &our compliments to the chef for our lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:P | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


After the Bowls - Rating 4/5

Hertfordshire were playing (and thrashing) Norfolk and I thought and overnight stay would be an idea. My wife came to watch (unheard of) and we visited Peter Beale's the following day. The hotel was value for money and the breakfast was great as was the view from our bedroom.

Reviewer:Martin D | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


good - Rating 3/5

Comfortable and convenient for my visit

Reviewer:Philip T | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the Griffin Hotel ,I would recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Michael H | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely quaint hotel.Amazing food and very comfortable rooms.Very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Jenny A | Tue 28th May 2019 | 3 months ago


stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant overnight stay

Reviewer:William T | Tue 7th May 2019 | 4 months ago


30th Anniverasy stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for our 30th Wedding anniversary for 4 nights - slight problem with the plumbing in our room on the first night - Richard &Sue managed to turn it around and moved us to another room on the second day.All the staff are lovely, particularly the housekeepers Frankie &Lisa who we now consider friends. Yes the Griffin is "tired", but that is due to to the age and nature of being a graded building - overcome your pregudices and give it a chance. A most pleasant stay &if we are in the area we will stay again.

Reviewer:Ian S | Mon 6th May 2019 | 4 months ago


griffin march 19 - Rating 4/5

Friendly place to stay loads out and about only thing that lets the place down is lack of onsite parking ,but worth a look at if staying inthe area

Reviewer:steven r | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Lovely staff and service. Food (dinner and breakfast) first class.Few problems with the shower and water.But all round a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Philip I | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


always nice to be there - Rating 5/5

Not the first time I come there, and always made very welcome. The Griffin has some nice rooms with view on the cathedral and immaculately clean. A nice card for dinner and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Bastiaan V | Mon 18th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Room with a view- Rating 3/5

Very pleasant stay, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was ok bed was a bit hard for my back and the shower was quite snug. Would stay for a night again as very local for my friends.

Reviewer:APRIL G | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Nice stay but... - Rating 3/5

I had a nice stay bit the only criticism I do have was the 'cot size' duvet covers on the single bed. Every time I turned over, the duvet would move over with me as it did not hang down each side of the bed.Other than that it was a nice room, pleasant staff and breakfast was good.

Reviewer:Bernard D | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


First visit - Rating 5/5

Visited as a rendezvous to meet with friends and an overnight stay. Very good value, comfy, clean,excellent food and service. Great beer of course and a wonderful traditional atmosphere.Would definitely visit again. Only down side, the management might wish to keep a check on the youngsters who gather around the bar and use colourful language which may offend other guests.

Reviewer:John T | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Very pleasant stay - good food! - Rating 4/5

A group of friends and I stayed for two nights while motorcycling in the area.Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and the charm of a GII listed coaching Inn.Plenty of parking out back, lovely view of the church too and a warm welcome.The shower could have been a little more powerful, but did the job!Breakfast and dinner were both very good.

Reviewer:Thomas B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Old but Gold - Rating 4/5

As you can see when entering this is a very old building. It is not modern in appearance but this is part of it's charm. What really matters is that it is a very homely place to spend an overnight stay or longer. The staff and management are extremely polite and helpful and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean and the food is very good.The whole building could do with being renovated but in reality this would be impossible considering the age of the premises. This is to be expected and to ask for 5 star luxury would be unfair.I would recommend staying at The Griffin Hotel because it is well run, comfortable, serves good food and has a friendly relaxed outlook towards visitors, which is not easy to find nowdays.Give it a try!

Reviewer:Eric O | Tue 19th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly hospitality in traditional atmosphere - Rating 4/5

Everything was fine, just as I was used to the previous stays. I like the traditional atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Wifi is good.

Reviewer:Langreck J | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Renewed acquantance - Rating 4/5

It was some months since we last stopped at the Griffin but on arrival it was like we had never been away.Quirky, full of character, a great host in Richard , excellent dinner and breakfast, a good bar with guest ales well kept and a clean and comfortable four poster room. En suite and shower a little small but a minor detail really. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mr. DAVIDB | Fri 21st Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Impressed - Rating 5/5

Room clean and welcoming. Great view over the village from the bedroom.All good, BUT, the food was amazing.I had lamb and my partner had chicken, brilliant.The breakfast took us back to our childhood, thick cut bacon and eggs with deep yellow yolks,Recommended? Oh yes.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary S | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Friendly and relaxed hotel - Rating 5/5

I booked into this hotel last minute due to a work trip. The hotel is set in a beautiful little village and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Its a very short walk from the train station (5-10 minutes). Unfortunately they weren't serving dinner that night but there was a very tasty Italian down the road which I got some take away from.I stayed in room 5 which I saw had some negative reviews about it being noisy but I had no issue with noise and I am a notoriously bad sleeper! The room looks out onto a church and is very picturesque.The bed was very big and comfortable!No complaints or even constructive criticism! Would definitely recommend to friends/family.

Reviewer:Miss. Katie H | Wed 27th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Mum and teenage daughter - Rating 4/5

Older style room but clean and spacious.food was fab huge portions and very friendly staff would use again if staying in that part of the country.

Reviewer:Miss. Joe L | Mon 25th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Family visit - Rating 4/5

Nice stay - no fuss, due to attending family funeral. Room, facilities and bed comfortable and added request was complied with . Breakfast menu basic but enjoyable. Staff extremely kind and helpful. Pub menu for family meal was very enjoyable.Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Michael D | Tue 31st Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


The Griffin Hotel - Rating 4/5

Landlord and staff were most attentive and hospitable. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Our meals were most enjoyable and the Landlord prides himself (justifiably) on using fresh local produce.The music in the bar was not to my taste, but hey, that's the youth of today!I am happy to recommend The Griffin Hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew R | Sat 31st Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Characterful pubwith excellent breakfast - Rating 3/5

We stayed for one night as we were at a 40th birthday party nearby.The room was small with a four poster but was ok for one night as we did not need much room.Seemed cosy.Very comfortable bed so we both slept well.Good beer in the bar. Ensuite shower room was fine.Possible need of decorating one wall in the bedroom as it seemed there had been a leak at some time.Cosmetic only

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith C | Tue 27th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Stay at the Griffin - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome, friendly staff, great food &a room full of character &with everything we needed! Perfect stay!

Reviewer:Mrs. Rebecca E | Thu 1st Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Comfort in Norfolk - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to the Griffin. Full of character, both the hotel and mine host Richard. Welcoming staff, real ales and pleasant traditional bar area.Dining area serving excellent food at all times.Rooms recently refurbished. A little on the small side but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our four poster bed gave us an excellent night's sleep.We visit Attleborough to visit an ailing aunt in residential home but have in the process discovered a delightful litle town and relaxing hotel.Our rating is based on the overall experience and the value for money it represents.

Reviewer:Mr. John David B | Mon 6th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


coming home. - Rating 5/5

With Griffin Hotel it is like coming home. Very friendly personel, friendly and open people in the pub below (which is not loud!!), cosy rooms with a splendid view and excellent breakfast. Food card in the pub is very good as well, but unfortunately I was too late for that this time.

Reviewer:Mr. Bastiaan V | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Town centre pub, no parking - Rating 3/5

The photo has been taken from the town church and is a very favourable angle. The pub is a town centre pub on the main high street and has no parking.Windows are single glazed andyou can experience all of the busy town centre frivolities, all night. Rooms and staff are pleasant, just a bit of a surprise that it is located in avert busy, noisy location.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve S | Mon 8th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Amazing Hotel! - Rating 4/5

I would highly recommend The Griffin Hotel, for its food (the breakfast was incredibleand cured the hangover almost instantly!) the warm welcome from the friendly staff and last but by no means least, its decorative splendour. Beautiful inside and out with original exposed beams and traditional uneven, but thickly carpeted floors. Set in a convenient location in a small but thriving village with gorgeous views over the church grounds next door, I would happily stay here again in a heartbeat. Excellent value for money! I hope to be able to visit again soon :-)

Reviewer:Miss. Nikola P | Wed 3rd Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, clean and pleasant room, excellent food and beer!

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Tue 8th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


The Griffin - Rating 4/5

For my wife and I it was pure pot luck picking this hotel for a business trip, very pleasantly surprised. Richard and his staff were friendly and efficient, our room was lovely and the food good as well. We would definitely use them again. One negative comment car parking is limited so an early check in is probably a good idea.

Reviewer:Mr. Martyn B | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Excelent - Rating 5/5

This is a very friendly establishment. At an earlier occasion I did already want to stay here. They were fully booked and found another establishment for me and booked it. Very attractive rooms, nicely furbished and clean, with full view on the cathedral. Excellent breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. Sundays the restaurant is unfortunately closed, but I dined here at an earlier occasion and enjoyed it (very tasty vegetarian choice as well).Certainly coming back should I stay in the area again!

Reviewer:Mr. Bastiaan V | Tue 29th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Review - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant one night stay. The evening meal was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony S | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Hotel review - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel with friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin O | Sun 23rd Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


The BEST !! - Rating 5/5

The accomodations were sparkling clean.The staff was simply amazing, friendly, courteous and professional.Richard is a DOLL and was very kind to us. I remember the Griffin Hotel as a child and I was very honored to stay there as an adult.I can not wait to go back to the lovely gem in East Anglia.The food was remarkable as well !I would suggest this hotel with out reserve to Everyone !

Reviewer:Ms. Lesley D | Fri 25th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

well recently visited snetterton race track and stayed at this ovely hotelits got proper charactergreat food and tye owner richard is a top gent ..room are excellentwould recommend and stay again

Reviewer:Mr. George M | Tue 27th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 3/5

From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay the staff members (and even locals) were very welcoming. A lovely building with lots of character and good service to match.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew G | Wed 3rd Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Good at the Griffin! - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay.Good food and comfortable room.Friendly staff and a hotel full of character.Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff K | Fri 22nd Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly and attentive staff made my one-night stay a pleasure, albeit brief due to a late arrival and an early depart.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris A | Mon 15th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Contact

Griffin Hotel
19 Church Street
Attleborough
Norfolk
NR17 2AH

01953 452149
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • City Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat